Preloader Icon

The Tumani Corrah Prize for Excellence

Researcher at work

We are proud to launch the Tumani Corrah Prize for Excellence, which celebrates the achievements of AREF alumni since their participation in our programmes and workshops. 

The Africa Research Excellence Fund (AREF) was founded by Professor Sir Tumani Corrah in 2015 to support the careers of the new generation of African researchers, providing the stepping stones needed to become outstanding research leaders in their respective fields. This helps to ensure that talent is retained in Africa to address the continent’s unique health research needs.

The Tumani Corrah Prize for Excellence has been made possible by generous donations given in his honour, recognising his immense contribution as a mentor and benefactor to many aspiring clinicians and scientists, particularly in The Gambia and West Africa.

The Prize

The Tumani Corrah Prize for Excellence is intended to celebrate the achievements of AREF alumni who have made an impact in their field and demonstrated their potential to be a research leader of the future as a result of their participation in AREF programmes.

The Prize will run annually for a period of five years, and in this first year we will be awarding two prizes of £2,000 each, payable to the winners’ institutions, together with certificates. In subsequent years there will be a single prize of £2,000. 

It is not a project grant and winners will be able to use the prize money flexibly to support their research and their professional research career development.

Each year the Prize will be open to a different cohort of alumni based on the year they completed their AREF programme. This first call for applications is open to AREF alumni who completed their AREF programme (fellowship or grant-writing workshop) in 2016 or 2017

Eligible applicants will be contacted directly by email with a link to the application form.

If you completed an AREF programme in 2016 or 2017 and have not been contacted by AREF, please contact us at

Published: 9 December 2021